Skip to main content

Info Literacy: Abstracts, Literature Reviews, and Annotated Bibliographies: Home

This Libguide explains what abstracts, literature reviews, and annotated bibliographies are and offers insights into the form and construction of these types of writing.

Terms

An abstract is a self-contained, short, and powerful statement that describes a larger work. Components vary according to discipline. An abstract of a social science or scientific work may contain the scope, purpose, results, and contents of the work.

literature review or narrative review is a type of review article. A literature review is a scholarly paper, which includes the current knowledge including substantive findings, as well as theoretical and methodological contributions to a particular topic.

An annotated bibliography is a list of citations for various books, articles, and other sources on a topic. The annotated bibliography looks like a Reference page but includes an annotation after each source cited. An annotation is a short summary and/or critical evaluation of a source. Annotated bibliographies can be part of a larger research project, or can be a stand-alone report in itself.

 

Academic Writing

Students are asked to write many different kinds of texts. Depending on your subject, these could be essays, laboratory reports, case-studies, book reviews, reflective diaries, posters, research proposals, and so on and are normally referred to as genres. These different genres, though, can be constructed from a small range of different text types.  Abstracts, Literature Reviews, and Annotated Bibliographies are three genres of academic writing.

Contact Information

If you have any additional questions or need assistance with your research, please contact a librarian today.

The Robert Block Library is open Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST. 

Email to library@ussa.edu

Phone: 251-626-3303

For assistance anytime, please use the Library's 24/7 Chat.