Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources: Peer Reviewed Journal Databases

Open Access Journals

DOAJ

The Directory of Open Access Journal consists of free, online, full text, scholarly journals on all subjects from around the world. DOAJ lists several thousand journals, about half of which are searchable at the article level.

PLOS ONE

The world’s first multidisciplinary Open Access journal, PLOS ONE accepts scientifically rigorous research, regardless of novelty. PLOS ONE’s broad scope provides a platform to publish primary research, including interdisciplinary and replication studies as well as negative results. The journal’s publication criteria are based on high ethical standards and the rigor of the methodology and conclusions reported.

PUBMED

PubMed comprises over 29 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources.

PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

Free Medical Journals

The Free Medical Journals Site was created to promote the free availability of full text medical journals on the Internet. We welcome your comments and suggestions.

Contact Information

If you have any additional questions or need assistance with your research, please contact a librarian today.

The Robert Block Library is open Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST. 

Email to library@ussa.edu

Phone: 251-626-3303