Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Access Resources: Special Collections, Archives, Historical Societies, & Museums

Contact Information

If you have any additional questions or need assistance with your research, please contact a librarian today.

The Robert Block Library is open Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST. 

Email to library@ussa.edu

Phone: 251-626-3303

Online Archive of California

The Online Archive of California (OAC) provides free public access to detailed descriptions of primary resource collections maintained by more than 200 contributing institutions including libraries, special collections, archives, historical societies, and museums throughout California and collections maintained by the 10 University of California (UC) campuses.

Harvard's Open Collection Project

The collections consist of digitized images of books, serials, pamphlets, photographs, diaries (images of pages, not transcripts!), manuscripts, and catalogs. Keyword searching is available, and browsing by collection, material, and theme/subject.

Search Here.

LA84 Foundation Digital Library

The LA84 Foundation funds youth sports in Southern California, trains coaches and examines the role of sports in society.  LA84 is the legacy of the 1984 Los Angeles Olympic Games.  The digital archives contains reports, oral histories, articles on sport and Olympic Games history.

Sports Archives

Sports History Newspaper Archives

Sports history is a huge topic of interest for the avid sports fan. Whether you are simply looking to educate yourself on your favorite team for fun, or you are seeking information for professional research and metrics, Newspaper Archive can help with its rich collection of articles and resources. We proudly feature more than 2.58 billion articles and present an impressive selection of categories to explore. The Sports History archives are compiled of 20 different sport-specific categories, each offering unique newspaper records by the team, games and more. Looking to find out who won the 1972 World Series? Interested in the 1928 Summer Olympic games? There are many Sports History articles to explore! Get Unlimited Access to 10,948 titles from 1607 to present.

AP Archive

AP compilations are designed to give our users fast access to the best content on a given subject. They are created by our expert team of curators and are composed of iconic images, eye-catching events and the best shots and stories we have on that subject. We have meticulously researched these, so you don’t have to.
Below, you can view our two most popular compilations in this category. To view our other compilations in this category, click on the button at the bottom of the page