Skip to main content

Contemporary Issues in Sports: Overview

SAB 361

Click to Explore Additional Guides

Quick Facts

  • Article resources are found in the research databases: EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and Gale.
  • The Library DOES NOT have a single search box to search all digital resources. The best option is to visit the links for EBSCOhost, ProQuest, and Gale to search these amazing resources.
  • The Library can be reached anytime 24/7 through its chat. Please use this resource if you have questions. There is a short survey at the end of the library chat you are welcome to complete as well!
  • We appreciate you and want to connect you with the best resources!

SAB 361

Welcome students in Contemporary Issues in Sports! This research guide is designed with research tips and information to support your studies.

The Robert Block Library features an extensive collection of digital resources targeting your research needs. As the Library is digital, you can search resources anytime! You can search by clicking on the links throughout the guides for the databases EBSCOhost, ProQuest and Gale. You can also search the specialized resources Sports Market Analytics or Sports Market Place Directory. 

Again, you can search by going to the Library's main page, or click on links strategically placed throughout the guides.

Library FAQ

Article resources can be found in the Research Databases. Please click on EBSCOhost, ProQuest or Gale to begin searching. On the Advanced Search screen in a database, you can also select Article in the document type area.

The library also offers access to specialized resources Sports Market Analytics, and Sports Market Place Directory.

See information on locating peer reviewed articles.

There are a few avenues to review books and e-books.

  • On the Library’s homepage, you can start by searching in the Online Public Access Catalog (OPAC). This lists physical holdings specific to the library. Students can request to check out a book listed here (please contact the library with questions on requesting a physical collection book).
  • Another option is to explore possible e-book information in the EBSCO database. There you can search the eBook Collection.
  • Students can also visit OCLC World Share (http://worldcat.org). This site also is linked to the Library of Congress’ interlibrary loan program so that a user can find a library where a particular book can be located.
    • A user can go to Amazon (http://amazon.com/books) and find bibliographic information about books on any given topic. 

In a research database you search using Boolean connectors. This includes AND, OR, and NOT. These connectors are placed between keywords (search terms) or keyword phrases to conduct a search on a specific topic.

The research databases are set up to search with an “AND” between search terms, you can view this on the Advanced Search screen in a database.

Here is more information:

  • Use AND to search for topics together. For example: Football AND college athlete
  • Use OR to search for similar terms that could be expressed on a topic: lawsuit OR litigation
  • Use NOT to exclude words (used less frequently). For example: college athlete AND football NOT soccer

Peer reviewed journals, can also be referred to as academic or scholarly journals, feature content primarily academic in nature. Articles in these publications go through a rigorous review process by a field of peers/experts in the specific industry, for approval before publication. These articles include empirical research, scholarly discourse, and critical analysis of subject areas.

  • In the library’s databases, look for a box to select by Scholarly Peer Reviewed Journals or Peer Reviewed, to filter the results for that specific type of publication.

It is important to note there can be general commentary and book reviews in academic or scholarly journals, however, that information is not considered peer reviewed.

Examples of non-peer reviewed resources include newspapers, magazines, trade publications, blogs, etc. 

Google Scholar, from Google, is a search engine reviewing article and related resources. Users can type in search queries in the search box. Another option is to select the down arrow in the right corner of the search box, and the Advanced Search options appears.  If students are struggling with search terms or possible topics Google Scholar is one option to jump start brainstorming.

It is recommended students use the library’s research databases, as this can ensure the full text of the article is available. Google Scholar can sometimes bring back dated material, as well as links to publisher’s websites (access for a fee).

Please feel free to connect with a librarian today for more information. 

In Canvas, you can explore ACCESS.  Information here contains a large number of articles dealing with issues common to academic writing.  Some example topics include: Creating a Thesis, Overcoming Anxiety about Writing, Avoiding Plagiarism, and more. 

You can visit the APA Style’s website and blog for more information.  

In the research databases, when reviewing an item, there can be a “cite” or “citation tool” button. This is a computer generated citation, in several formats. This should be used as a loose guide for citation information, and not simply copied and pasted. These are computer generated citations and can be incorrect. Always verify any generated citation to the APA Style guidelines. 

Please feel free to connect with a librarian today with any additional questions. 

Contact Information

If you have any additional questions or need assistance with your research, please contact a librarian today.

The Robert Block Library is open Monday-Friday 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. CST. 

Email to library@ussa.edu

Phone: 251-626-3303

For assistance anytime, please use the Library's 24/7 Chat.